News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.
View previous announcements.
 

Wed, 12/17/2014
Wed, 12/10/2014

All federal courthouses for the Middle District of Alabama will close on Wednesday, December 24, 2014 at 12:00 PM and remain closed Thursday, December 25, 2014 and Friday, December 26, 2014 in...

Wed, 11/19/2014

On April 25, 2014, the Supreme Court approved amendments to the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure which will take effect on December 1, 2014.

The amendments to the bankruptcy rules address the following: 1)...

Mon, 11/10/2014

The Judicial Conference recently approved several amendments to the Bankruptcy Court Miscellaneous Fee Schedule.  They will be effective December 1, 2014.

First, the Conference approved a $50 increase (from $157 to $207) to the fee...

Fri, 10/31/2014

During the 12-month period ending September 30, 2014, bankruptcy filings in the Middle District of Alabama were up approximately 1 percent from the same period ending September 30, 2013.  Meanwhile, according to a recent Administrative Office...

Fri, 07/11/2014

Volume 7 of the Alabama Middle Bankruptcy Court's newsletter, Court News and Views, is now available. Please give us feedback on how we can make these...

Wed, 10/30/2013

According to a recent press release from the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, national bankruptcy filings were down 12% for the year ending September 30, 2013 from the same period ending September 30, 2012. Although the increase is less...

Wed, 10/09/2013

Amendments to the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure were approved by the Judicial Conference at its September 2012 session, and subsequently adopted by the Supreme Court. The amendments have since been transmitted to Congress and will take...

Mon, 09/30/2013

In the event of a federal government shutdown at midnight on September 30, the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Alabama will continue operations and remain open during regular business hours on Tuesday, October 1, 2013....

Thu, 08/15/2013

Chief Judge Dwight Williams and Judge William Sawyer are creating a Local Rules Committee to review our local rules and to make recommendations. They recently reviewed a list of attorney volunteers and recommendations and selected the following...

Pages